Webfeed Decentralized

A Closer Look – Links – Video

Full Text Feeds

In all my blogs, I’ve always put my feeds out as full-text feeds. The feed for this site still looks like it’s coming in as full text, but the posts on the web site, itself, are now being truncated. I have no idea why it’s doing this, all of a sudden, but I don’t like it. I’ll be trying out some of the other styles that are offered, here at WordPress.com, just to see if it makes a difference, but I doubt it will.

The posts used to be complete, here at Webfeed Decentralized, but after posting the previous post, I noticed that they were all cut off, unless you go to the full post. Right now, I’m just guessing that it might have something to do with the AdGenta advertisements that I have in the posts, but I’m not sure. I’ve seen other people’s posts and they’re not cut off, though.

I’ll try to find out if the ads are causing it, and let you know, here. If they “are” causing it, look for a new domain name, soon. Things that change without my knowledge are not very impressive, at all. If WordPress is cutting off my feeds because I’ve included some advertising, they should, at least, let me know ahead of time.

The only reason that I’ve actually been using their service is because I really like this version of WordPress. Version 2.0 is supposed to be released, very soon, though, and I can’t wait to upgrade all of the 52 installations that I have on my server. I might have to buy that new domain, though, and make it 53. I’ve actually been thinking about another domain, as well, and that would make it a whole lot more. I “need” to be able to control what shows up on my front pages, though. at least I know that if it’s located on “my” server, that nobody else will screw with it.

4 responses to “Full Text Feeds

  1. Shane Ede December 28, 2005 at 8:51 am

    Tom,

    there’s a setting in WordPress somewhere for that. I don’t know if you have full access to it or not, but if you can find it, you should be able to change it back.

  2. Tom Simpson December 28, 2005 at 9:00 am

    I still have the option, in the admin panel, to select full text or partial feeds, but no kind of selection for the way it shows up on the home page.

    Like I said, they used to be complete, then one day I realized that they were partial. I need to float around WordPress.com and check out some of the other’s pages. They might have changed something in the template, or they might not have liked the AdGenta ads I’m using.

    I don’t have full access to the template, here, and the settings are limited.

  3. Tom Simpson December 28, 2005 at 9:04 am

    Ha! It must have been the template. After I changed it, it seems like the full posts are showing up on the front page, again. We’ll see how long this lasts…

  4. Arieanna January 2, 2006 at 1:14 pm

    Phew! You had me nervous there. Glad it wasn’t AdGenta! 😉

    AdGenta ads are shown as pictures, so there are no known issues with those 🙂

Leave a Reply

