Webfeed Decentralized

A Closer Look – Links – Video

Sitting Quietly

At a time in my life when everything seems to be going okay, there comes a knock at the door. The knock turns out to be opportunity, and I sit quietly…trying to decide whether I should answer it, or not. The life that mine has become is filled with routine and normality, although there is nothing that is normal or routine about it. The constant change and the “abnormality” has become something that I’ve grown accustomed to.

If I answered the door, the chance to turn my life into a seemingly “normal” one would be let in. The chance to work Monday through Friday from 9 to 5 would come, and turn my current world into one that I’ve never known before. The chance to make more money and to pay off the bills that are past-due would be let in, and everything that I’ve ever known about my “abnormal” lifestyle would be lost.

Answering the door could turn out to be the best thing I have ever done. It could also turn out to be a big mistake. I think it’s time to quit waiting, and answer the door.
Ads by AdGenta.com

8 responses to “Sitting Quietly

  1. Shane Ede March 29, 2006 at 9:15 pm

    I’ll bite… What’s/Whom is at the door?
    And remember… Curiosity killed the cat, but satisfaction brought him back!
    Good luck with whatever it is…

  2. Tom Simpson March 30, 2006 at 1:00 am

    I’ll let you know, after I answer the door at 11:00am on Friday. If it turns out that it doesn’t work out, I might “never” say, though.

  3. Shane Ede March 30, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    Fair enough. If I see the Swat team out front as I head home from lunch, I’ll know why… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Good Luck if you need it.

  4. Tom Simpson April 5, 2006 at 12:09 am

    They’re knocking again. It seems as though they need to knock two or three times before I’ll know, one way or the other. I should hopefully know something after 10:00am, today.

  5. Shane Ede April 6, 2006 at 9:22 pm

    Sounds a little bit like the Jehovah’s witness protection program to me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ready to spit it out yet?

  6. Tom Simpson April 6, 2006 at 11:32 pm

    The second-to-last paragraph, here, lays out pretty much, the basics of what happened. I was offered a job at Central Business Systems, after the second interview that I had. The wage that they offered me was not close enough to what I wanted, although it was higher than what I’m making, now.

    The big kicker was their “no moolighting” policy, which would have meant that I’d have been selling-out, and making my current customers find a new place to host their sites, and somebody else to work on them. The difference between what I’d be making and the new job, and losing from my current customers would have still meant a small increase in over money in my account, but not any more than I could make by adding one or two new hosting customers. Even if the increase was bigger, I still don’t think I would have taken the job.

    I haven’t actually let them know that I’m not taking the job, yet, but I’ll be calling them on Friday to let them know.

  7. Shane Ede April 7, 2006 at 9:06 pm

    Sounds like you made the right choice. I suppose that they have to have a “no Moonlighting” clause in there somewhere if it would be something similar to what they already do. Better just figure out a way to make more money online… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Tom Simpson April 7, 2006 at 9:26 pm

    …already figuring that out!

Leave a Reply

