Webfeed Decentralized

A Closer Look – Links – Video

It’s Not About MySpace

Where is all of the “good” music, these days? In the Metal genre, there seems to be a thousand bands with the same sound and the same “growling” lead singer who couldn’t carry a note if they tried. If they actually “could” carry a note, we wouldn’t recognize the voice, anyway. We had “one” band that sounded like that, in my generation. All the rest of them seem to be copying them, or each other. If you know of one modern Heavy Metal band that doesn’t sound like the lead singer is the spawn of Satan, please let me know.

Anything else that is classified as the Rock genre seems to be mostly watered down versions of the same theme, played at different tempos. Any artistic value that most of today’s music has is lost because there are no rough edges.

Gen X may be the first generation in history to complain the following generation is “too quiet.” [Link]

I’m 36. Maybe I’m not supposed to like the music that my kids are listening to, just for the fact that if I “did” like it, it wouldn’t be cool. Well…The fact is, I really don’t see how most of today’s music is supposed to be cool, anyway. They can have it.

I’m sure that I’m missing something, though. There’s got to be some good bands, creating some cutting edge, hard music that I would actually want to listen to. Where are they? My oldest son (18) listens to a lot of good music! Kinda’ funny how he can’t stand much of today’s music, either. I wonder how many other “kids” are listening to their parents music because it actually has some artistic value, edge, and power.

Meanwhile, my 11-year-old son just walked into the room, and out of the blue says “How can anybody like AC/DC?” Oh boy… I guess everybody’s got their own tastes in music, anyway.

Leave a Reply

