Webfeed Decentralized

A Closer Look – Links – Video

Dave Winer’s Disappearing Posts

I’ve seen this happen a few times in the past on Dave Winer’s blog. I’m not exactly sure what’s happening, but it looks like he’ll publish something, then (within a few minutes or so) he’ll delete the post. I never mentioned anything about this, but I thought that this time was a little more important for me to focus on.

I should point out that I have always looked up to Dave (and still do), for many different reasons. He has always been a sort of blogging father figure to me, and I have a lot of respect for him. When he doesn’t follow his own rules or advice, though, questions are raised, in my mind.

Dave Winer has always made a big deal out of being “transparent” when blogging, so that when you read a post, you know the angle that the writer is coming from. Anybody that knows him, knows his political and religious views. He has also been a big supporter of having permalinks, so that individual posts always have a unique URI.

EDITED: When re-reading this on August 2nd, the post is now visible at the permalink. Make sure to read his note, at the end of the post, for the reason why this happened.

Without saying anything else, here is a post that Dave wrote last night, them promptly deleted, for some reason. I searched his site, but there is no sign of the permalink, or any referrence to the story. It showed up in my feed reader at 11:58pm CST:

Israel is wrong

I know I’m going to catch hell for this, but it’s time to say something.

Israel is wrong. There aren’t two sides to this anymore. I’ve heard all I want to hear from Israel. It’s time to stop the attack on Hezbollah, withdraw back into Israel, stop firing bombs into Lebanon, and shut up for a while and let everyone else sort this out. It’s not just Israel’s problem. There are hundreds of millions of lives at stake in the Middle East, and this time not only has an Arab country, and that’s what Hezbollah is, withstood Israel’s attack, but they’re also clearly justified in their response to the Israeli attack.

Hezbollah has every right to have defenses against Israel. If I’m not mistaken, Hezbollah didn’t start firing rockets into Israel until they were attacked by Israel. Okay, they took two Israeli soldiers hostage. And now Israel has killed hundreds of Lebanese, destroyed large parts of the country and its infrastructure. It’s enough already. Even a Jew like myself sees how wrong the Israeli position is.

Maybe there’s a silver lining here, maybe Hezbollah, having won not only a military victory, but also a political victory, maybe they can see their weapons as defensive, if not now, maybe soon. Especially if the western powers help get Israel to stop attacking.

Look, I’m not a diplomat, I don’t speak for a country, I’m just telling you what I think. I don’t expect a thoughtful response, but enough is enough, it’s time to say something.

I’m not even going to comment on the content of the post, itself. I think that it definetly should have remained visible on his site, though. No matter what your opinion of what he wrote is, I think that it can be agreed on that this post means more than many of the other things that he had written about, lately.

2 responses to “Dave Winer’s Disappearing Posts

  1. Pingback: Contentious » Explaining Substantive Edits: Good Idea (Rewriting Blog History, Part 2)

Leave a Reply

